Prof. Armando Albert (Valencia 1931 - Madrid 2019)

Professor Armando Albert (Valencia 1931 – Madrid 2019) was one of the driving forces behind the creation of the Spanish Society of Biotechnology (SEBiot) and its president between 1994 and 1998.

The Spanish Society of Biotechnology (SEBiot) was formally constituted in 1989, after a long gestation process.

The first two national biotechnology congresses organised by SEBiot (León 1986 and Barcelona 1988) were held de facto prior to the formal constitution of the society and were its seed. These and the following congresses have marked the history of our organisation and have articulated our efforts to promote and disseminate advances in biotechnology research and innovation, as well as serving as a framework for major international collaborations. It is worth mentioning the organisation of the 10th European Congress of Biotechnology, in 2001, with the European Federation of Biotechnology (EFB), of which SEBiot has been the Regional Branch Office since 2003 (see Agreements and collaborations).

The following is a summary of the congresses organised by SEBiot since 1986.

The last SEBiot Congress was held in July 2023, in Madrid. [+info]

Throughout these more than 30 years of history, dozens of people have made it possible, with their commitment and work on the Executive Board, to achieve SEBiot’s objectives. We remember them and thank them for their contribution, especially those who have led this work from the Presidency.

President Years
Juan Francisco Martín 1989 – 1994
Armando Albert 1994 – 1998
Rafael Pérez Mellado 1998 – 2002
Francesc Gòdia 2002 – 2006
José Luis García 2006 – 2010
Carmen Vela 2010 – 2012
Isabel de la Mata 2012 – 2014
Mario Díaz Fernández 2014 – 2018
Fernando Peláez 2018 – 2023
María José Hernáiz 2023 – present