SEBiot’s Board of Directors renewed

SEBiot’s Board of Directors renewed

In the Extraordinary Assembly of the Spanish Society of Biotechnology (SEBiot) held yesterday afternoon, the presidency and vice-presidency of the Board of Directors of the entity were renewed, as well as two members of the same. María José Hernáiz Gómez-Degano (UCM), who had held the vice presidency since November 2021, is the new president of SEBiot, replacing Fernando Peláez, who is leaving the Board of Directors after four years in the presidency, although he will continue to collaborate in activities , such as the preparation of the Biotec 2023 congress.

María Auxiliadora Prieto, head of the Polymer Biotechnology Laboratory at the CIB-CSIC, joins the Board as the new vice president of the entity. Two positions of Board members have also been renewed. Leaving the Board of Directors are Ion Arocena, general director of AseBio —patron member of SEBiot— and Federico Morán, head of the UCM Biophysics Laboratory. They are replaced by Enrique Samper, founder and CEO of the biotechnological company NIMGenetics, and Fátima Al-Shahrour, who leads the Translational Bioinformatics Unit at the CNIO.

Likewise, María Asunción Longo González, a professor in the Department of Chemical Engineering at the University of Vigo, joins the Board of Directors as elected secretary, with the aim of collaborating with the current secretary, Francisco Valero, whose functions she will assume within a year, when Professor Valero’s term expires.

Prior to voting on the new positions, the Ordinary General Assembly of Members was held in which, through the report of the presidency, a review of the activities carried out during 2022 was made.